Staxipedia Express : The motownplication of the labels and fishes

“The reason we had so many labels [**Tamla, Motown, Gordy, Soul and V.I.P.] was because I couldn’t get more than one record, or two, on a label played on the radio. When the disc jockey said, ‘how many records do you want played?’ I would say, They are all hits! ‘No, no, we are only playing one from Columbia…one from RCA…two from this one and that one, and I can’t play (all) Your records’. So I started five labels and then I could put a record out on each label and they wouldn’t realise that it was the same company.”

Berry Gordy / Motown

Leave a Reply

